Integration of data protection into digital business processes.

Data protection requires appropriate and effective operationalization. Gierschmann Consulting is a management consultancy that specializes in data protection management, data protection management systems, and data protection compliance:

SERVICES CONSULTING

Operationalization of requirements

Operationalization of requirements is an important prerequisite for insuring long-term data protection. This means that legal regulations are reflected in procedures and processes in the context of the actual business model, and roles and responsibilities are clearly defined. Data protection management is consequently a management and control function.

Effective data protection management

We support you in minimizing compliance risks using our expertise in current management practices. This applies to data processing in compliance with data protection regulations, insuring the rights of data subjects, or dealing with personal data breaches. Our services include design, setup, assessment, and continuous improvement of effective data protection management. We develop practical solutions in collaboration with you.

Examples are:

  • Creation and implementation of guidelines and work instructions for data protection management
  • Introduction of company-wide standards for data protection management
  • Design and implementation of data protection governance structures
  • Development and implementation of processes that conform with data protection regulations
  • Execution of processes to ensure the rights of data subjects.
  • Introduction of processes for handling IT incidents and data breaches
  • Setup of risk management for data protection compliance

Support for strategic alignment

There is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ approach for a data protection management system. Rather a DPMS should be aligned with your existing business model. Where possible, existing structures and management systems should be used. For example you may want to benefit from an already existing quality management or an information management system.
We support you in the strategic alignment as well as design and implementation of a DPMS. We assist you by means of our knowledge and experience from our involvement in the development of ISO standards for data protection management systems such as ISO/IEC 27701 as an extension of ISO/IEC 27001 and 27002 for data protection management.

Examples of our consultancy activities:

  • Setup of a group-wide data protection management system based on ISO/IEC 27701
  • Workshops for strategic alignment of a DPMS, in particular as an extension to an existing information security management system (ISMS)
  • Design of a DPMS and of the operational and organizational structure by means of guidelines and processes
  • Implementation of the General Data Protection Regulation by way of a data protection management project and setup of a DPMS
  • Comparison of various national and international standards (including ISO with BSI and NIST)

High demands in terms of accountability

The GDPR lays down more stringent requirements in terms of the burden of proof on the part of data controllers. Mandatory prerequisites for this are clearly defined processes with roles and responsibilities that must be implemented, ‘lived’, and documented. Similary, additional appropriate technical and organizational measures required to avoid risks for the data subject, must be selected, implemented, ‘lived’, and documented. In addition, regular checks must be carried out as to whether these are effective.

Our expertise and experience enable us to support you in the design, implementation, assessment, and continuous improvement of control and monitoring of compliance with data protection regulations. This also includes carrying out actual audits.

Examples of our consultancy capabilities:

  • Development of a control and monitoring concept
  • Setup of a group-wide data protection audit program
  • Verification of the implementation of data protection requirements (e.g. as a readiness assessment)
  • Assisting the internal audit department in performing data protection audits
  • Checking the effectiveness of technical and organizational measures
  • Concept review of fulfillment of burden of proof

Take advantage of our 20+ years of experience as a management consultancy. We assist our international clients with strategic issues as well as operational implementation. We closely monitor new developments in standardization on national and international levels through our work for industry association and publishing activities, e.g. at DIN, CEN, and ISO level. Our interdisciplinary approach means that we have a collaborative network of partners and lawyers.
Contact person

Markus Gierschmann

gierschmann typo

Integration des Daten­schutzes in digitale Geschäfts­­prozesse.

Datenschutz erfordert eine angemessene und wirksame Operationalisierung. Gierschmann Consulting ist eine Unternehmensberatung, die sich auf die Schwerpunkte Datenschutzmanagement, Datenschutz-Managementsysteme und Datenschutz-Compliance fokussiert:

SERVICES CONSULTING

Die Operationalisierung der Vorschriften

Eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um Datenschutz dauerhaft sicher zu stellen, ist die Operationalisierung der Vorschriften. D.h. die rechtlichen Reglungen werden im Kontext des jeweiligen Geschäftsmodelles in Verfahren und Prozessen abgebildet und es werden klare Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten definiert. Somit ist Datenschutzmanagement eine Führungs- und Kontrollaufgabe.

Effektives Datenschutzmanagement

Wir unterstützen Sie mit unseren Kenntnissen der gängigen Managementpraktiken, um Compliance-Risiken zu minimieren. Dies betrifft die datenschutzkonforme Verarbeitung, Sicherstellung von Betroffenenrechten und Handhabung von Datenschutzverletzungen. Unsere Beratung umfasst Konzeption, Aufbau, Bewertung und kontinuierliche Verbesserung eines effektiven Datenschutzmanagements. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen erarbeiten wir praktikable Lösungen.

Beispiele unserer Beratungstätigkeit:

  • Erstellung und Implementierung von Richtlinien und Arbeitsanweisungen zum Datenschutzmanagement
  • Einführung von konzernweiten Standards zum Datenschutzmanagement
  • Konzeption und Implementierung von Datenschutz-Governance-Strukturen
  • Aufbau und Umsetzung von datenschutzkonformen Verarbeitungen
  • Umsetzung von Prozessen, um Betroffenenrechte sicherzustellen
  • Einführung von Prozessen zur Datenschutzverletzung sowie Integration mit Informationssicherheit
  • Aufbau eines Risikomanagements für Datenschutz

Unterstützung bei der strategischen Ausrichtung

Einen „one-size-fits-all”-Ansatz für ein Datenschutz-Managementsystem gibt es nicht. Vielmehr sollte sich ein DSMS an Ihrem bereits vorhandenen Geschäftsmodell ausrichten. Vorhandene Strukturen und Managementsysteme sollten möglichst genutzt werden. Dies kann ein Qualitäts- oder auch ein Informationsmanagementsystem sein.
Wir unterstützen Sie bei der strategischen Ausrichtung sowie der Konzeption und Implementierung eines DSMS. Wir begleiten Sie mit unseren Kenntnissen und Erfahrungen aus unserer Tätigkeit bei der Entwicklung von ISO-Standards für Datenschutz-Managementsystemen, wie dem ISO/IEC 27701 als Erweiterung von ISO/IEC 27001 und 27002 für Datenschutzmanagement.

Beispiele unserer Beratungstätigkeit:

  • Aufbau eines konzernweiten Datenschutz-Managementsystems in Anlehnung an ISO/IEC 27701
  • Workshops zur strategischen Ausrichtung eines DSMS, insbesondere als Erweiterung eines vorhandenen ISMS
  • Konzeption eines DSMS und der Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation durch Richtlinien und Prozesse
  • Umsetzung der DS-GVO durch ein Datenschutzmanagement Projekt und Aufbau eines DSMS
  • Vergleich unterschiedlicher nationaler und internationaler Standards (u.a. ISO mit UK BSI und NIST)

Hohe Anforderungen an Nachweispflichten

Die DS-GVO stellt erhöhte Anforderungen an die Nachweispflichten eines Verantwortlichen. Zwingende Voraussetzungen dafür sind klar definierte Prozesse mit Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten, die umgesetzt, „gelebt“ und dokumentiert werden müssen. Zur Vermeidung von Risiken für die Betroffenen müssen ferner angemessene technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen ausgewählt, implementiert, „gelebt“ und dokumentiert werden. Darüber hinaus ist regelmäßig zu überprüfen, ob solche auch wirksam sind.

Mit unserem Know-how und unserer Erfahrung unterstützen wir Sie bei der Konzeption, Implementierung, Bewertung und kontinuierlichen Verbesserung der Kontrolle und Überwachung der Einhaltung der Datenschutz-Compliance. Dies umfasst auch die Durchführung von konkreten Überprüfungen.

Beispiele unserer Beratungstätigkeit:

  • Erstellen eines Kontroll- und Überwachungskonzepts
  • Aufbau eines konzernweiten Datenschutz-Auditprogramms
  • Überprüfung der Umsetzung der Datenschutzvorgaben (z.B. als Readiness Assessment)
  • Unterstützung der internen Revision bei der Durchführung von Datenschutz-Audits
  • Wirksamkeitsprüfung von technischen und organisatorischen Maßnahmen
  • Konzeptprüfung zur Erfüllung der Nachweispflichten

Profitieren Sie von unserer mehr als zwanzigjährigen Erfahrung in der Unternehmensberatung. Dabei unterstützen wir unsere international tätigen Kunden sowohl bei strategischen Fragestellungen als auch bei der operativen Umsetzung. Neue Entwicklungen der Standardisierung auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene im Bereich Datenschutz werden eng von uns begleitet, u.a. im Rahmen unserer Verbands- und Veröffentlichungstätigkeit, z.B. bei der DIN, CEN und ISO. Aufgrund des interdisziplinären Ansatzes arbeiten wir mit einem Netzwerk von Partnern und Anwälten kooperativ zusammen.

gierschmann typo
Markus Gierschmann – Gierschmann Consulting
Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Ing. oec.
Markus Gierschmann